Nicole Herzog-Verrey


Nicole Herzog-Verrey003In Defiance Of Stone

Nicole Herzog-Verrey is passionate about the mountains of her native Switzerland. This is very clear in viewing the results of her photographic encounter with Lebanon. The mineral world has captured her full attention. Her Lebanon is a land of stones, of “old stones” in the noblest sense of the phrase. Black & white accentuates this nobility and keeps any facile effects at bay. Matte, massive, majestic, these archeological blocks assert themselves with geological incontrovertibility. The only interlocutor Nicole Herzog-Verrey deems worthy of them is the sky: long cavalcades of clouds trace complex geometrical forms that echo the shapes of abandoned temples.

Only trees, impressively tall, might occasionally compete with stone. Fragile and alive, they rise in places where even the proudest columns have yielded to years of erosion. Humans, for their part, are far too small to stake a claim. If by chance a figure appears, the scale of proportions puts him back in his humble place. There are no characters here, only, from time to time, traces of presences, touching and ridiculous.

In Nicole Herzog-Verrey’s photographs, the contemporary world asserts itself in much the same way as antiquity: by its architecture. Their respective materials, however, have nothing to do with each other: gone are the solid quarry stones and precious marble blocks; in their place, scrap-iron scaffoldings and concrete skeletons leave us uncertain whether they are still under construction or already abandoned. Where the ancients used to build, the moderns camp. In telling us this, Nicole Herzog-Verrey’s photographs rigorously and elegantly express one of the paradoxes of Lebanon and its neighboring countries: the difficulty of creating a modern living environment and way of life when our visual memory is saturated with relics. In that regard, this attentive observer of glaciers is no stranger to the Middle East: living with the past is an experience similar to living with untouched nature — continuous defiance.

By Guillaume de Sardes

Nicole Herzog-Verrey 


Nicole Herzog-Verrey003Au Défi de la Pierre

La passion de Nicole Herzog-Verrey, ce sont les montagnes de sa Suisse natale. On le sent bien en regardant le résultat de sa rencontre photographique avec le Liban. C’est en effet la dimension minérale qui a retenu toute son attention. Son Liban est un pays de pierres, de « vieilles pierres » au sens le plus noble du terme. Le noir et blanc accentue cette noblesse en écartant tous les effets faciles. Mats, massifs, majestueux, les blocs archéologiques s’imposent avec une évidence géologique. Le ciel, voilà, selon la photographe, le seul interlocuteur qui soit digne d’eux ; les grandes chevauchées de nuages dessinent des géométries complexes qui répondent à celles des temples abandonnés.

Seuls les arbres, impressionnants de verticalité, peuvent à l’occasion rivaliser avec la pierre. Vivants, fragiles, ils se dressent là où les plus fières colonnes ont payé leur tribut à l’érosion des siècles. Les hommes, eux, sont définitivement trop petits pour exprimer quelque prétention. Si d’aventure une figure apparaît, le jeu des échelles la renvoie à son humble stature. Plutôt que des personnages, on croisera, éparses, des traces de présences, aussi touchantes que dérisoires.

Le contemporain, dans les photographies de Nicole Herzog-Verrey, s’affirme sur le même mode que l’antique : par ses architectures. Les matériaux, toutefois, sont sans commune mesure : non plus des moellons solides ou des marbres précieux mais des échafaudages de ferraille, des carcasses de béton, dont on ne sait jamais s’ils sont encore en construction ou déjà délaissés. Là où les Anciens bâtissaient,  les Modernes campent, semble dire l’artiste. Elle exprime par là, avec rigueur et élégance, l’un des paradoxes du Liban et de ses voisins : la difficulté de susciter un cadre de vie et un art de vivre pour aujourd’hui quand la mémoire visuelle est saturée de traces. En ce sens, l’observatrice attentive des glaciers n’est pas dépaysée en Orient : cohabiter avec le passé est une expérience du même type que la cohabitation avec la nature vierge – un défi permanent.

Par Guillaume de Sardes