Alain Fleischer


Alain Fleischer, Série CinecittàCinecittà

Few artists have such a close connection to the city of Rome. Few have such extensive knowledge and such regular hands-on experience of cinema. It thus came as no surprise when, in 2003, Alain Fleischer combined the two in a single artistic endeavour.

The connections he created in this series are complex: not only did he project stills from films made at Cinecittà, the famous cinema complex modelled on Hollywood, created in Rome in the late 1930s, onto the walls of Rome; he also chose films set in the city itself, such as William Wyler’s Roman Holiday, Federico Fellini’s La dolce vita and Michelangelo Antonioni’s L’Éclipse. This mise en abyme goes hand in hand with an ambiguity inherent in the title of the series itself: Does Cinecittà, the città del cinema, refer to the studios or the Italian capital itself? Is Rome itself not the “city of cinema”: not only the setting for famous films, but also, and above all, the screen of stone on which Alain Fleischer projects images?

We find this reversal at the very heart of the series, which runs counter to the traditional view of photography as a voyeuristic pursuit and turns it into an exhibitionist activity: this is about projecting images more than capturing them. The photographs on display here are just a record: a testimonial to the projections that make up the core of the work. For years, Alain Fleischer travelled around the world with a slide projector and images that he projected onto the walls of buildings, mainly from the hotel rooms where he was staying. When the images were pornographic, they formed part of his Exhibitions series. When they came from masterpieces by Fellini or Antonioni, they gave rise to the Cinecittà series. But in both cases, at different levels of interpretation, the idea was to display life-size images of imaginary nocturnal cityscapes.

By Guillaume de Sardes

Alain Fleischer


Alain Fleischer, Série CinecittàCinecittà

Peu d’artistes ont un rapport aussi étroit avec la ville de Rome. Peu ont une connaissance si complète et une pratique si régulière du cinéma. Il n’est donc pas étonnant qu’Alain Fleischer ait fini, en 2003, par réunir la ville aux sept collines et le septième art en un même travail artistique.

Les liens qu’il tisse à travers cette série sont complexes. Car non seulement il a projeté sur les murs de Rome des photogrammes extraits de films réalisés à Cinecittà, le célèbre complexe cinématographique romain créé à la fin des années 1930 sur le modèle d’Hollywood, mais il a choisi des films ayant pour décors la ville même, comme Vacances romaines de William Wyler, La dolce vita de Federico Fellini ou L’Éclipse de Michelangelo Antonioni. Cette mise en abyme se double qu’une équivoque, liée au titre de la série. Cinecittà, la « città del cinema », désigne-t-il les studios ou bien la capitale italienne ? Rome n’était-elle pas cette « cité du cinéma », décors de films célèbres, mais surtout écran minéral sur lequel Alain Fleischer projette des images ?

Ce renversement, on le retrouve au cœur-même de la série, qui prend le rebours de la perception traditionnelle de la photographie comme une activité voyeuriste, pour en faire une activité exhibitionniste. On projette ici plutôt qu’on capte. Les captations (les photographies qui sont exposées ici) ne sont que l’enregistrement, le témoignage de ces projections, qui constituent le cœur de ce travail. Pendant des années, Alain Fleischer a voyagé à travers le monde, avec dans ses bagages un projecteur de diapositives et des images qu’il a projetées sur les façades alentour, principalement à partir des chambres d’hôtel où il logeait. Quand les images étaient pornographiques, elles rejoignaient sa série Exhibitions. Tirées des chefs-d’œuvre de Fellini ou Antonioni, elles ont donné naissance à la série Cinecittà. Mais dans les deux cas, à des niveaux d’interprétation différents, il s’agissait de donner à voir en grand une sorte d’imaginaire nocturne de la ville.

Par Guillaume de Sardes