(Bibliothèque Orientale) Antoine Poidebard, Deux petits écoliers de Tokat, c. 1906

Photography Collection Of The Oriental Library Of The Saint Joseph University


By Saint Joseph University

From 22 January, 2015
To 11 February, 2015

A unique heritage for Lebanon and the Middle East

The Oriental Library of the Saint Joseph University has a collection of 70 000 photos made by generations of Jesuit fathers who, since the nineteenth century and as part of their mission and their personal research, have accumulated a rich collection of photographs on archaeology, ethnography or history. There is also a significant collection of photographs from the nineteenth century signed by Bonfils, Tancrède Dumas, Felicio Beato or James Robertson. This collection represents an invaluable source of documentation for the history of those countries where the Jesuit fathers exercised their apostolate (Lebanon, Syria, Armenia, Egypt), as well as the history of photography in the Middle East. In fact, practically all examples of the photographic art are represented here from collodion film through silver and albumin prints, glass plates of various sizes to flexible supports or paper. Through a partnership with the Boghossian Foundation, the Oriental Library will be able to develop ways to protect this unique heritage and showcase it through a database for consultation, traveling exhibitions, publications, conferences and other means of communication.

Portraits of the East

This exhibition presents a selection of thirty photographic portraits of the hundreds made by the Jesuit fathers during their stay in the Middle East as members of the missions in Armenia, Syria and Lebanon in the first half of the twentieth century. This is usually close-up photographs of people where the facial expression is clearly displayed and where the subject(s) face(s) before the camera in a pose set up by the photographer. What idea did the Bedouin from the Syrian steppes, the Circassian horseman from Asia Minor, the Armenian schoolchildren from Tokat or the peasant from Mount Lebanon make of themselves, at a time when photography was not yet widespread in these countries? The conditions under which the portraits were made may explain the natural aspect of the characters facing the camera. Several Jesuits excelled in the art of portraiture, especially Guillaume de Jerphanion, Antoine Poidebard, Pierre de Vrégille, Joseph Delore and Henri Charles, all French nationals. But the way they look at the East through these pictures is fundamentally different from that of professional European photographers who reconstructed Oriental types in their studio with an imaginary décor. These religious men, who have spent most of their careers in the Middle East and generally speak the language, have a much more intimate knowledge of the environment and the traditions in which the characters in front of their camera evolve. Anonyme

Journey to the East

In the early 1860s, three associates, the photographer Ludovico Wolfgang Hartle, the journalist Charles Lallemand and the publisher Varroquier announced an extensive publishing program of albums entitled The Universal Gallery of Peoples” aiming to “reproduce through photography the rapidly disappearing national costumes due to the progress of civilization, to preserve for artists the memory of that which was beautiful and quaint.” Only a small part of their ambitious project was completed. The photography library of the Beirut Oriental Library has a very rare copy of one of their albums, devoted to Syria (that is to say, Syria and Lebanon today). The album, which dates from 1864-1865, contains 36 pictures boards, including twenty exhibited here. These prints are on albumen paper, colored by hand and pasted on cardboard. Each board features the embossed stamp of Charles Lallemand. In order to introduce some variety of the fashions, photographs were taken in three different regions. The first is that of Zouq Mikaël, a large Maronite Christian village north of Beirut, which in the nineteenth century was very famous for its production of fabrics. The second selected region is that of Schoueifat, a village south of Beirut: the Druze population was at that time the second largest population of Mount Lebanon. The third and final area covered is that of the city of Damascus, also well renowned for its production of various textiles.

Where

169 Gallery
Mkhalassiye Street, Saifi Village
Beirut

When

From 22 January, 2015
To 11 February, 2015

12:00pm - 8:00pm

(Bibliothèque Orientale) Antoine Poidebard, Deux petits écoliers de Tokat, c. 1906

Photothèque de la Bibliothèque Orientale de l’Université Saint-Joseph de Beyrouth


Par Saint Joseph University

Du 22 Janvier, 2015
Au 11 Février, 2015

Un patrimoine unique pour le Liban et le Proche-Orient

La Bibliothèque Orientale de l’Université Saint-Joseph de Beyrouth dispose d’un fonds d’environ 70 000 photos constitué par des générations de pères jésuites qui, depuis le xixe siècle et dans le cadre de leur mission et de leurs recherches personnelles, ont accumulé une collection particulièrement riche de clichés à caractère archéologique, ethnographique ou historique. On y trouve aussi une collection non négligeable de photographies du xixe siècle signées des Bonfils, Tancrède Dumas, Felicio Beato ou encore James Robertson. Ce fonds représente une source de documentation inestimable pour l’histoire des pays où les pères ont exercé leur apostolat (Liban, Syrie, Arménie, Égypte), ainsi que pour l’histoire de la photographie au Proche-Orient. En effet, pratiquement toutes les étapes de la technique photographique sont représentées, du collodion à l’argentique en passant par les épreuves albuminées, des plaques de verres de dimensions variées aux supports souples ou en papier. Grâce à un partenariat conclu avec la Fondation Boghossian, la Bibliothèque Orientale pourra développer les moyens de protéger ce patrimoine unique et le mettre en valeur à travers une banque de données à consulter, des expositions itinérantes, des publications, des conférences et d’autres activités de diffusion.

Portraits d’Orient

Cette exposition présente un choix d’une trentaine de portraits photographiques parmi les centaines réalisés par des Jésuites pendant leur séjour au Proche-Orient en tant que membres des missions en Arménie, Syrie et Liban dans la première moitié du xxe siècle. Il s’agit généralement de photographies rapprochées de personnes où l’expression du visage est clairement affichée et où le(s) sujet(s) pose(nt) devant l’appareil en se prêtant au jeu du photographe. Quelle idée le bédouin de la steppe syrienne, le cavalier tcherkesse d’Asie Mineure, les écoliers arméniens de Tokat ou le paysan du Mont Liban se font-ils d’eux-mêmes, à une époque où la photographie n’était pas encore répandue dans ces contrées ? Les conditions dans lesquelles les portraits ont été réalisés expliquent peut-être le naturel de ces personnages face à l’objectif. Plusieurs Jésuites ont excellé dans l’art du portrait, surtout Guillaume de Jerphanion, Antoine Poidebard, Pierre de Vrégille, Joseph Delore et Henri Charles, tous français d’origine. Mais le regard qu’ils portent sur l’Orient est fondamentalement différent de celui des photographes européens professionnels qui reconstituent des types orientaux dans leur studio au décor irréel. Ces religieux, qui ont passé l’essentiel de leur carrière au Proche-Orient et qui généralement parlent la langue du pays, ont une connaissance beaucoup plus profonde du milieu et des traditions dans lesquels évoluent les personnages fixés par l’appareil.

Voyage en Orient

Au début des années 1860, trois associés, le photographe Ludovico Wolfgang Hartle, le journaliste Charles Lallemand et le diffuseur Varroquier annoncent un vaste programme de publication d’albums intitulés “La galerie universelle des peuples”. Celui-ci vise à « reproduire grâce à la photographie les costumes nationaux qui disparaissent rapidement devant les progrès de la civilisation et à préserver pour les artistes la mémoire de ce qui était beau et pittoresque ». Seule une petite partie de leur ambitieux projet a été réalisée. La photothèque de la Bibliothèque orientale de Beyrouth conserve l’un de leurs albums, très rare, consacré à la Syrie (c’est-à-dire la Syrie et le Liban actuels). Le recueil, qui daterait de 1864-1865, contient 36 planches photos, dont une vingtaine est exposée. Il s’agit d’épreuves sur papier albuminé, colorisées à la main et contrecollées sur carton. Chaque planche comporte le cachet en relief de Charles Lallemand. Pour présenter une certaine variété des modes vestimentaires, les photographies ont été prises dans trois régions différentes. La première est celle de Zouq Mikaël, un grand village chrétien maronite au nord de Beyrouth qui justement était célèbre au XIXe siècle pour sa production de tissus. La deuxième région sélectionnée est celle de Schoueifat, village situé au sud de Beyrouth : sa population druze représentait alors la seconde composante majeure du peuplement du Mont Liban. La troisième et dernière région concernée est celle de la ville de Damas, elle aussi renommée pour sa production de textiles variés.


169 Gallery
Mkhalassiye Street, Saifi Village
Beirut

Quand

Du 22 Janvier, 2015
Au 11 Février, 2015

12:00pm - 8:00pm