LA 9 b 001

Paths within edges (Projection)


By George Awde

From 20 January, 2017
To 08 February, 2017

A great city – especially when it sprawls without real limit, like Beirut – can quickly dazzle us with the height of its towers, the noise of its avenues, the density of its crowds. Even though George Awde makes photographs in the heart of a Middle Eastern metropolis, this is not the image of the city that he seeks to transmit. A chaste, unblemished light – fit for the world’s first morning – shines even between skyscrapers and amidst piles of debris littering half-abandoned construction sites. His scenes often take place immediately after rain, as if a thunderstorm had washed Babel clean. Fragile flowers wedge up through cracked concrete.

The Syrian children and young men who people these images also seem to belong to a world made new, strangely recalling Christophe Honoré’s beautiful contemporary reinterpretation of Ovid’s Metamorphoses. Their partial nudity does not so much appeal to desire as hold social roles at bay. Their togetherness, the tenderness which unites them, is that of utopian communities. George Awde seeks out the first impulse of being-in-the-world, far from the illusions that fascinate “advanced” societies. That’s why the gazes of his subjects have something so deep and serious about them, rendering insignificant the forced cheeriness of magazine portraits.

George Awde photographs refugees, forced to come to Lebanon to escape the war dragging on in neighboring Syria. But he respects them too much to reduce them to their political status or to cast them as actors in a scene rich with suffering. Awde restores to these models their full dignity, their singular beauty. Their large somber eyes do not ask for our pity, with all the condescension and clear conscience that would imply: rather, they call for our brotherly admiration.

Where

Station
Jisr El Wati
Beirut

When

From 20 January, 2017
To 08 February, 2017

12:00pm - 7:00pm

Inauguration: Friday January 20 at 8:00 pm Closed on Sundays

LA 9 b 001

Paths within edges (Projection)


Par George Awde

Du 20 Janvier, 2017
Au 08 Février, 2017

La grande ville, surtout quand elle s’étend sans vrai contrôle, comme Beyrouth, peut vite étourdir par le vertige de ses tours, le bruit de ses avenues, la densité de ses foules. Même s’il photographie au cœur d’une métropole du Proche-Orient, ce n’est pas cette image de la ville que George Awde veut transmettre. Jusqu’entre les gratte-ciels, dans les gravats de chantiers semi-abandonnés, brille une lumière jeune, chaste, une lumière de premier matin du monde. Souvent, la scène est juste après la pluie, comme si l’orage avait purifié Babel. Des fleurs fragiles poussent dans les failles du béton.

Les enfants et les jeunes hommes syriens qui peuplent ces images semblent eux aussi appartenir à un monde neuf, qui rappelle étrangement la belle relecture contemporaine des Métamorphoses d’Ovide par Christophe Honoré. Leur demi-nudité, plus qu’un appel au désir, dit l’éloignement des comédies sociales. Leur proximité, la tendresse qui les unit, dessinent l’utopie d’une communauté. Au-delà de tous les mirages qui fascinent les sociétés « avancées », Awde cherche un être-au-monde en son primesaut. C’est pourquoi le regard des sujets a chez lui quelque chose de grave et de profond, renvoyant à l’insignifiance la jovialité factice des portraits de magazines.

Awde photographie des réfugiés, contraints de venir au Liban pour échapper à la guerre qui s’éternise dans la Syrie voisine. Mais il les respecte trop pour les réduire à leur statut politique, pour en faire les acteurs d’une scénographie nourrie de pathos. Awde restitue à ses modèles leur pleine dignité, leur singulière beauté. Ce qu’appellent leurs grands yeux sombres, ce n’est nullement notre pitié, avec son lot de condescendance et de bonne conscience, c’est notre fraternelle admiration.


Station
Jisr El Wati
Beyrouth

Quand

Du 20 Janvier, 2017
Au 08 Février, 2017

12:00pm - 7:00pm

Vernissage: Vendredi 20 Janvier à 20h00 Fermé les Dimanches